MNIT Jaipur and IIT Madras signed MoU for JoSAA 2017 Seat Allocation


/home/pravesh/Downloads/MNIT-Jaipur-and-IIT-Madras-signed-MoU-for-JoSAA-2017-Seat-Allocation.jpgIn a meeting of Joint Seat Allocation Authority (JoSAA) at IIT Madras, a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) was signed in between Indian Institute of Madras and Malaviya National Institute of Technology, Jaipur by Prof. Bhaskar Ramamurthi (IIT Madras) and Prof. Y. Udaykumar (MNIT, Jaipur) for allocation of seats in around 90 institutes which comprises of IITs and NITs. It was announced at the meeting, that by June 10, 2017, the top 20 percentile cutoff will be released on the web portals of 23 Boards across India. According to the agreement, IIT Madras and MNIT Madras has decided certain eligibility requirements for seat allocation of the candidates at various institutes. The criterion is as follows:


Eligibility Requirements for JoSAA 2017 Seat Allocation

  • Aspirants belonging to the General Category need to score more than 75% aggregate marks in their 10+2 examination or its equivalent board examination.
  • The Schedule Caste (SC), Schedule Tribe (ST) and Persons with Disability(PD) candidates must secure 65% aggregate marks in their Class XII examination.
  • Since there are variations in the percentage of marks among toppers. The seats will also be allocated for Toppers from different boards. The category wise top 20 percentile score of qualified candidates from various boards will be allotted seats alternatively.

The meeting was addressed by Prof. Bhaskar Ramamurthi Director, IIT Madras, conducting team of JEE Advanced 2017, Prof. Y Udaykumar, Director, MNIT, Jaipur (Coordinator of CSAB 2017) and the team of CSAB 2017, Shri. R. Subrahmanyam, Additional Secretary of the Technical Education (MHRD), Prof. Gautam Biswas, Director, IIT Guwahati, and officials from Ministry of Human Resources and Development MHRD and National Informatics Centre.

JoSAA 2017 allocates seats for admission to 92 Participating Institutes which includes 20 IIITs, 31 NITs, 22 IITs ISM and 18 GFTIs. JoSAA includes the members from Joint Admission Board (JAB) and Central Seat Allocation Board (CSAB). The qualified candidates will be selected for admission to over 34, 000 undergraduate engineering courses in the above institutes. It will be held in six rounds.