AU College of Engineering, Visakhapatnam

Group Options

AU College of Engineering, Visakhapatnam
Friday, 10 September 2010
Group Admins:
Andhra University College of Engineering (Autonomous), Visakhapatnam, is the campus college of University. At the time of inception, was of only a Department of Engineering with Civil Engineering, Mechanical Engineering and Electrical Engineering as the main branches. In the year 1960, the Department of Engineering was shifted to the present spacious North campus spreading over 150 acres of land. The Department of Chemical Technology, instituted in 1933, was also shifted to the same campus in 1962, adding strength to the Engineering Departments. The trifurcation of the University colleges in 1966, led to the inception of the College of Engineering (Autonomous) as a separate constituent of the Andhra University.

At present, the College of Engineering (Autonomous) consists of 12 Engineering and 4 Basic Sciences departments, totaling to 16 departments, offering 15 Under-Graduate Engineering day-time programmes and 4 UG Engineering part-time programmes; 28 Post-Graduate Engineering programmes, 1 MCA and 3 M.Sc. programmes in various departments. All the departments are also running Ph.D. programmes in different fields of research.

Year of Establishment:- 1955

Branches Offered:

1. B.E. Civil Engineering

2. B.E. Civil Environmental Engineering

3. B.E. Mechanical Engineering

4. B.E. Electronics and Communication Engineering

5. B.E. Electrical and Electronics Engineering

6. B.Tech. Computer Science and Systems Engineering

7. B.E. Metallurgical Engineering

8. B.E. Mechanical with Marine Engineering

9. B.E. Naval Architecture

10. B.Tech. Instrumentation Engineering

11. B.Tech. Chemical Engineering

12. B.Tech. Chemical Engineering with Petroleum Engineering

13. B.Tech. Chemical Engineering with Bio-Technology

14. B.Tech. Geo-Informatics

15. B.Tech. Ceramic Technology

16. B.Tech. Bio-Technology

17. B.Tech. Electronics & Instrumentation

18. B.Tech. Information Technology

Festivals in College:-

MESCON, TECHNOGRAIL etc are the different techfests organized by different departments.



Hostel facility is available to both boys and girls, though for a limited number of students. Students from outside Visakhapatnam can seek admission into the hostels by applying to the Chief Warden of the Hostels.

Medical Centres:

Both allopathic and homoeopathic medical centres are functioning on the campus. There are two allopathic medical centres, one in the North Campus and the other in the South Campus. The homoeopathic medical centre is situated next to the telegraph office.

Games and Sports

There are two play grounds, viz., The Silver Jubilee play ground and the Golden Jubilee Play ground on the campus. There is a department of Physical Education too. In addition, there is also a Gymnasium.

Support Services Available

1. Central Library

2. Computer Centre

3. Health Centre

4. Sports facilities

5. Press

6. Workshop

7. Hostels

8. Guest Houses

9. Housing Accommodation

10. Canteen

11. Welfare Schemes

12. Grievance Redress Cell

13. Vehicle Parking Shed

14. Non-Resident Centre

Extra-Curricular Activities:-

Students are encouraged to take part in the campus Beautification Programme including gardening and horticulture, and also in the Janma Bhoomi Programme and the Clean and Green Programme of the Government of Andhra Pradesh

Contact Address:-

AU College of Engineering, Andhra University,

Visakhapatnam - 530 003,

Andhra Pradesh, INDIA.

Contact: [email protected]

Fax : 91-891-2747969

Principal : 91-891-2844999, 2754586

Office : 91-891-284 4771

Asst. Principal : 91-891-284 4767

Asst. Principal : 91-891-284 4768

Asst. Principal : 91-891-284 4769

Asst. Registrar : 91-891-284 4770
Friday, 10 September 2010 by Entrance Corner

Training and Placement Centre

There are no discussions in this group yet. Why don't you create one?