JEE Advanced 2017 Eligibility Criteria


JEE Advanced 2017 Eligibility CriteriaJEE Advanced 2017 Eligibility Criteria: Candidates appearing in JEE Advanced 2017 must fulfil each and every criterion for being eligible to appear in JEE Advanced 2017. The eligibility criteria consist of age limit, number of attempts, qualification, and performance in JEE Main 2017 etc. The norms are applicable to all the candidates, including foreign candidates. Aspirants, before applying for the examination which will begin from April 28, 2017, must check if they satisfy the eligibility criteria. Candidates who fail to satisfy the eligibility criteria will not be allowed to appear in the examination under any circumstances. Also, after the submission of the application form, candidates the registration fee cannot be claimed back. Therefore, it is advised to all the candidates to go through the article given below to know about the Eligibility Criteria of JEE advanced 2017.


JEE Advanced 2017 Eligibility Criteria

To appear in JEE Advanced 2017, all the candidates, including foreign candidates must fulfill all the five criteria listed below.

Age Limit

  • Candidates should be born on or after October 1, 1992.
  • For SC, ST and PwD candidates, there is a relaxation of 5 years. Their birth date should fall on or after October 1, 1987.

Performance in JEE Main 2017

  • Candidates must qualify JEE Main 2017 and be among the top 2, 20,000 (including all categories).
  • The percentage of total no. of candidates of various categories is: 27% for OBC- NCL, 7.5 %, 15% for SC for ST candidates and the remaining 50.5% is open to all.
  • 3% horizontal reservation in each of the four categories mentioned above is available for PwD candidates.

While choosing the top 2, 20,000 candidates in various categories who have qualifying JEE Main 2017, the following order given below will be followed.

S No. Category No. of Top Candidates Total
1 Open 1, 07,767 1,11,100
2 Open- PwD 3,333
3 OBC-NCL 57,618 59,400
4 OBC_NCL_PwD 1,782
5 SC 32,010 33,000
6 SC-PwD 990
7 ST 16,005 16, 500
8 ST- PwD 495

Number of Attempts

  • The maximum no. of attempts for JEE Advanced 2017 is two times in consecutive years.
  • Candidates, who appeared in the year 2016, are eligible to appear in JEE Advanced 2017.

Education Qualification

  • Candidates must have appeared for Class XII Boards or equivalent examination for the first time either in the year 2016 or 2017.
  • Candidates, whose result for the academic year 2014- 15 of Class XII Boards or equivalent examination was declared after June 2015 can also appear in JEE Advanced 2017.

Note: The earlier mentioned criteria that the candidates should have either secured 70% (or more) percentage or must be among top 20 percentiles, in the school Board exam, has now been adopted under JEE Main as well. Hence, the qualifier, who will be termed eligible for JEE Advanced, will be already filtered and fulfilling this criteria. 

Earlier admission at IITs

  • Candidates who have taken admission in IIT (irrespective of whether or not they have continued in the program) or accepted the IIT seat by reporting at a reporting centre in the past are not eligible to appear in JEE Advanced 2017.
  • Candidates whose admission at IITs is cancelled are also not eligible.
  • Candidates admitted in preparatory course for the first time in any of the IITs in 2016 can appear in the exam.
  • Candidates who have paid seat acceptance fee but did not accept the seat are eligible for JEE Advanced 2017.

Eligibility Criteria for Foreign Candidates

  • Candidates should not be citizen of India by birth or naturalized.
  • Candidates should not belong to OCI/ PIO category.
  • Parents of candidates should not be citizens of India or belong to OCI/ PIUO category at the time of registering for JEE Advanced 2017.
  • The candidates must secure at least 75% aggregate marks in the Class XII (or equivalent) board examination.
  • In every course, 10% of total seats are allotted to foreign nationals under supernumerary category.
  • For foreign candidates, there is no reservation of seats under OBC- NCL, ST, SC and PwD categories.

Examination equivalent to Class XII

  • Senior Secondary Examination organised by the National Institute of Open Schooling with a minimum of five subjects.
  • Class XII examination conducted by a Central or State Board which is recognized by the Association of Indian Universities (AIU).
  • Examination of the Joint Services Wing of the National Defence Academy (NDA).
  • Higher secondary vocational examination.
  • Any Public School, Board or University examination in India or in a foreign country recognized as equivalent to class XII by the Association of Indian Universities (AIU)
  • A two-year or intermediate Pre-University examination conducted by a Board or University acknowledged by the Association of Indian Universities.
  • A Diploma recognized by the State Board of Technical Education or All India Council for Technical Education of minimum duration of 3 years.
  • General Certificate Education (GCE) examination at Cambridge, London or Sri Lanka at the Advanced (A) level.
  • Cambridge University’s High School Certificate Examination or International Baccalaureate Office, Geneva’s International Baccalaureate Diploma course.
  • Candidates who have completed Class 12 (or equivalent) examination outside India or from a Board not specified above have to produce a certificate from the Association of Indian Universities as a proof that their qualifying exam is equivalent to class XII examination.
  • If the Class XII examination is not a public examination, candidates must have passed at least one public (Board or Pre-University) examination earlier.